top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Surridge

Visiting the electron microscopy department. 18/06/22

My first visit was to election microscopy where I met with Tom to discuss what was possible and also have a look around the equipment and processes to start the inspiration flowing. He started by emptying some left over liquid nitrogen (used to freeze and preserve samples) on to the floor - probably a basic every day occur but it was beautiful to me.



What interested me instantly was how many cross overs there are between science and art and the techniques we use. For example in the preparation chambers in the labs the environment had to be kept constant for the bacteria to live, and this reminded me a bit of how with welding we use gases to shield the weld from the effects of the atmosphere as we don’t want impurities in the weld.


Some of my favourite things were the tiny little slides used under microscope. These contain a mesh grid dividing the slide in to little squares, which help locate the bacteria when viewed. These are made of gold or copper and I love the patina on these. I started thinking about the antibacterial qualities of copper.




The other things I liked were the rotating plate machines that helped keep liquids moving ( what great plinths!) and the heat bath which is made of grains of metal instead of water which helps keep temperature constant. The numbers are in line with the ideal body environment .




I also just enjoyed the visual qualities of bits of the lab and microscopes I was shown which for an artist are always inspiring.




The last find of the day I would like to share were these little hand brushes used to handle tiny ribbons of resin with samples contained in.. they were made of a single eye lash glued on to a tooth pick! Sadly I didn’t get to see one but I watch this space for my attempts to make some!




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page