top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Surridge

Robotics . 26/7/22.

I went and spent a week in Leeds with the aim of thinking about how robotics could be incorporated In To the project to help me dismantle e waste.


I spent some time at the summer school and visiting some of the incredible workshops leeds had on offer.


I think it mite be a bit challenging as the last thing we want is batteries exploding but this can perhaps be worked around. It was great meeting Sam one of the Phd students there who showed me some of the laser cutting facilities and how this could be incorporated .




The metal machining was pretty amazing as was the huge 3d printer



The other part I really enjoyed was the robotics quiz. There was a challenge to make a mini robot move and I liked how creative everyone was with very simple bits like a little motor, a box, cotton buds and tooth picks!



I also was shown a really kool Link about how to electroplate 3d printed plastic items with metal by creating a graphite coat first. This is what was really exciting and could lead the way for some new collaborations

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page