top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Surridge

Ox hide ingots to electroplate . 12/10/22

Another one of my ideas is to make a work communally where visitors ro The Tetley help me

Electoroplate parts of my own work. These will be oxhide ingots cut in to small Pieces and stamped with a number so that they can fit back together. The visitors will be given a kit with parts in, an anode made from recycled re cast copper from e waste and all the instructions and bits needed to electoplat. Again I'm Playing around with ancient meets contemporary but also contemplating the number of people that must have come together in the past , pre industrialisation, to smelt copper, cast it and manage all the associated tasks involved in production. I feel today that there is a huge disconnection from our materials and understanding where they come from and how they are made is key to my practice




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page