top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Surridge

Electroplating master class. 20/11/22.

Today I've had an interesting discussion with Girish Kale from Leeds university who helped me

Answer and trouble shoot some of my questions and queries around Electroplating. After this discussion and thanks to his suggestions I have used some of the Dare funding to buy a power source that I can control the amps/ voltage on. Hopefully this is a step closer to being able to electroplate the shoes I got in Mumbai from the e waste workers.


I learnt a lot about all the different variables that may be affecting my Plating quality that I had not thought about before . The science behind it is all quite mind-blowing . Girish suggested I print out the The electrochemical series also known as the activity series. This is a list of metals listed in order of decreasing reactivity or in the order of decreasing ease of oxidation. The activity of the metal depends on its tendency to lose electron or electrons, i.e., tendency to form cation .


Lots to learn!!! / remember !!!







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page