top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Surridge

Dokra. 28/10/22

Dokra is non–ferrous metal casting using the lost wax technique. This sort of metal casting has been used in India for over 4,000 years and is still used today by the people we visited.


I wanted to visit , as an avid metal worker this is my idea of HEAVEN and i was super excited about everything I saw... there may be a bit of a photo dump overload about to happen!!!


My idea was to bring some copper I sourced in the e waste recycling area in Mumbai and put it in to the pot of molten metal. I like the idea of combining ancient techniques with contemporary situations, in this case the modern mining of the metal from electrical devices.


The metal they are casting is brass, a combination of copper and zinc. The work they do is highly intricate and all handmade. I will share a few separate posts of things I saw and the techniques .




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page